Fat Acceptance and the Fat vs Curvy Debate

Today was one of those workout days where it took forever to get warmed up. I was in the deep pool doing my light aerobics and after ten minutes I felt like giving up. I stayed in there another ten minutes and then went to the lap pool.

I felt unmotivated today and wondered how I’d do laps for 45 minutes, let alone an hour. I decided anything over 45 minutes would be okay for today.

I was distracted because the woman in the lane next to mine seemed to start her laps at the same time I did and the last thing I want is to feel like I’m competing. It’s hard when one is neck and neck to not want to “win” by going faster. But I last longer when I slow my laps down so I tried to keep concentrating on that. I ended up doing about 50 minutes of laps, with a few breaths often between laps and then I went back to the deep pool to exercise other parts of my body.

I have a confession to make: for the last three days I have taken my suit off in the shower in the locker room. Everybody else does it and I wasn’t getting properly clean, so I thought I’d give it a go.

There’s nothing natural to me about being naked in front of anyone other than a spouse but it just seemed silly not to be able to wash all over and to really give my suit a good rinse. I can’t imagine what I look like, but I’ve seen worse bodies there and I don’t judge them. On the contrary, every body there is a winner already.

A lot is written these days about “fat shaming” and other ways in which overweight and fat people are ridiculed. Many overweight and fat people say there should be fat acceptance and I agree, but probably for different reasons than theirs.

For me, I never enjoyed being fat. I never considered myself “curvy”. In fact that word is being ruined because back in the day Marilyn Monroe was curvy and today Kim Kardashian is curvy. But to call all fat women curvy is ruining a fine word in my view.

Please do not hijack the word curvy — don’t let its meaning change!

Do some people enjoy being fat? I don’t know. I think some will say they enjoy it but how many of them really mean that? Do Melissa McCarthy or Rebel Wilson enjoy being fat? I don’t know, but their fat helped give them their careers.

Ms. McCarthy and Ms. Wilson are young now and being as overweight as they are is easier to handle in your 20s and 30s. I believe they will not like having that kind of extra weight when they hit 50 but only time will tell.

The bottom line is if they are happy I am happy. If they want to lose weight then I think they should find a way to do that. If not, I wish them well on their tougher road. I can’t do anything to inspire you or them to lose weight just as no one inspired me. I finally just got sick of feeling awful and knew that I was on the verge of becoming an invalid and the idea of that scared the crap out of me.

I feel there should be fat acceptance because anything else, especially ridicule, will not help anyone to lose weight. We are hard enough on ourselves, guys, trust me. I’ve got about 70 pounds to go in my journey and I can’t put off accepting myself until I am within normal range. I have to accept myself at every step on the path.

For the sake of good health I hope everyone has their own moment when they realize they can’t get any bigger and it’s time to change.

What are your opinions about fat acceptance? How about the curvy versus fat debate?

Follow me on Twitter @movingliquid1

Leave a Reply

