Writing Down the Food. Weighing Every Day.

I bought myself a reporter’s style Moleskin notebook. I had plenty of other notebooks to choose from, but I’m a sucker for Moleskin. I wrote down my weight, food, and exercise yesterday and then got up today and got on the scale again.

classic-reporter-pocket-ruled-hard-cover-black-thumbnail-1

It was 199.4 so yay, under 200 again. But I do realize that weight is sort of subjective, if I can use that word, due to water retention, full bowels, and other issues. It is weird weighing again instead of waiting until next Sunday as I usually do, but I’ll be honest, I think it’s going to keep me on my toes.

Throughout this weight loss journey of mine, I always ate less on Saturday knowing I’d be weighing the next day. I also tended to eat lighter when I knew I was going to my nurse practitioner where I would be weighed. So if that’s what I need to keep me on track, I will weigh every day.

Forcing myself to write down what I ate is also having an effect on me even though I’ve only done it two days. I’m determined to figure this out. I simply can’t allow all this work to simply be chalked up to “divorce” weight loss. My god I’ve worked too hard.

I do feel like this 200 pound mark is some sort of odd psychological barrier and I am going to have to use a lot of will power to get to 190. I do hope that after that my journey will continue knowing I’ve left the 200’s firmly behind me. That’s the plan anyway.

I don’t feel so hot. Not sure if I’ve got a little bug. I often feel this way when the weather changes and it poured rain today. Headache, runny nose. It was hard to make myself go swim but I did, and I worked out fairly well for the entire hour.

I have a busy day on Tuesday, with swimming in the a.m., then my volunteer work from 1-5pm, then I meet the “ladies” for our transition group at 6:30. Rare for me to be so busy, but looking forward to it.

One of the things that helped me to swim so well is that my mind was occupied on my latest business idea. I am imagining the place vividly and it’s so fun to imagine how the shop will look. I tend to lean towards Euro/Scandinavian/Slightly retro. White, clean, with colors that are muted a tad.

I created the Twitter account for it yesterday and with my very limited Photoshop skills created a temporary logo. I told my niece and her boyfriend about it today and they were intrigued. I can honestly see this business providing a modest but good enough income and doing it for some years. You can’t say that about a lot of businesses when you’re my age.

Speaking of my age, my birthday is next week and while I don’t really want to acknowledge it, I’m also not as bummed about it as I have been since my husband and I separated. In recent months I just wanted to stop the calendar, I simply could not believe I was going to be 57, but now I’m okay with it, as I have been for other birthdays. You can’t do anything about ’em, so let it go.

I’m trying to carry my Moleskin notebook around with me everywhere I go. I hope that using it, and weighing every morning help me to begin to get off the rest of this weight.

 

2 responses to “Writing Down the Food. Weighing Every Day.

  1. I hope your new weightloss plan works for you. 🙂 Congrats on getting back under 200. I was looking around for my little notebook yesterday and I couldn’t find it! I’m thinking to write it down too instead of just using myfitnesspal. I also put a goal into stickk.com to see if that helps. I put a short term goal to break through the mental 160 mark. I didn’t put any money stakes on it, so I don’t know if it will work, but I’m hopeful.

  2. That’s great, Cynthia. All we can do is try new ways of making this happen for us, we won’t know what sticks until we try it! Good luck to you. I’m eager to hear how it goes for you.

Leave a Reply

